Community Based Education Clinical & Library Resources @ IUSD
Electronic Book Packages - Search Multiple Sources at Once
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowOnline resource for medical education and practice that includes textbooks, cases, videos, drug references, and other learning tools.
- STAT!Ref through IUSD This link opens in a new windowOver 40 reference, text and other books on dentistry and oral health.
Electronic Books
The ADA Practical Guide to Patients with Medical Conditions by
With new medications, medical therapies, and increasing numbers of older and medically complex patients seeking dental care, all dentists, hygienists, and students must understand the intersection of common diseases, medical management, and dental management to coordinate and deliver safe care. This new second edition updates all of the protocols and guidelines for treatment and medications and adds more information to aid with patient medical assessments, and clearly organizes individual conditions under three headings: background, medical management, and dental management. Written by more than 25 expert academics and clinicians, this evidence-based guide takes a patient-focused approach to help you deliver safe, coordinated oral health care for patients with medical conditions. Other sections contain disease descriptions, pathogenesis, coordination of care between the dentist and physician, and key questions to ask the patient and physician.
Call Number: E-book onlyISBN: 9781118929278Publication Date: 2015-08-19 (2nd ed)
Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry by
Enhance your skills in patient assessment, oral diagnosis, and treatment planning! A full-color, all-in-one reference, Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 4th Edition helps you create person-centered dental treatment plans for adolescent and adult patients. Using evidence-based research, this text shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. Detailed coverage guides you through each phase of the treatment plan. New to this edition are chapters covering digital tools used in treatment planning and revised content in all chapters. The book renews a core section that describes how to plan and provide optimal oral health care for unique patient populations. Written by noted dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this must-have resource includes a fully searchable eBook version free with each print purchase. Clear, logical organization builds your understanding with sections on comprehensive patient evaluation, the treatment planning process, the five phases of the treatment plan, and care planning for all patients. What's the Evidence? boxes cite research articles affecting clinical decision-making and treatment planning strategies. In Clinical Practice boxes summarize information on specific clinical situations for quick and easy review. Ethics in Dentistry boxes address clinical situations where ethical decision making may be required. Review questions summarize and reinforce the important concepts in each chapter. 350 full-color illustrations depict important concepts. NEW! Updated content in all chapters. NEW! An eBook version is included with print purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, additional videos and all-new case-based practice quizzes for each chapter. NEW! Digital Tools chapter focuses on the use of digital tools in diagnosis and treatment planning.
Call Number: IUSD Library Reserve Desk WU166 T7843 2024ISBN: 9780323809757Publication Date: 2023-04-03 (4th ed)
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21st Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. MASTER MODERN MEDICINE! Introducing the Landmark Twentieth Edition of the Global Icon of Internal Medicine The definitive guide to internal medicine is more essential than ever with the latest in disease mechanisms, updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines, state-of-the art radiographic images, therapeutic approaches and specific treatments, hundreds of demonstrative full-color drawings, and practical clinical decision trees and algorithms A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine gives you the informational foundation you need to provide the best patient care possible. Essential for practice and education, the landmark 20th Edition features: Thoroughly revised content--covering the many new breakthroughs and advances in clinical medicine that have occurred since the last edition of Harrison's. Chapters on acute and chronic hepatitis, management of diabetes, immune-based therapies in cancer, multiple sclerosis, cardiovascular disease, HIV, and many more, deliver the very latest information on disease mechanisms, diagnostic options, and the specific treatment guidance you need to provide optimal patient care. State-of-the-art coverage of disease mechanisms: Harrison's focuses on pathophysiology with rigor, and with the goal of linking disease mechanisms to treatments. Improved understanding of how diseases develop and progress not only promotes better decision-making and higher value care, but also makes for fascinating reading and improved retention. Harrison's summarizes important new basic science developments, such as the role of mitochondria in programmed and necrotic cell death, the immune system's role in cancer development and treatment, the impact of telomere shortening in the aging and disease processes, and the role of the microbiome in health and disease. Understanding the role of inflammation in cardiovascular disease, the precise mechanisms of immune deficiency in HIV/AIDS, prions and misfolded proteins in neurodegenerative diseases, and obesity as a predisposition to diabetes are just a few examples of how this edition provides essential pathophysiology information for health professionals. All-new sections covering a wide range of new and emerging areas of vital interest to all healthcare professionals. New sections include: Sex and Gender-based Issues in Medicine; Obesity, Diabetes Mellitus, and Metabolic Syndrome; and Consultative Medicine-- Plus, a new Part covering cutting-edge topics in research and clinical medicine includes great new chapters on the role of Epigenetics in Health and Disease, Behavioral Strategies to Improve Health, Genomics and Infectious Diseases, Emerging Neuro-Therapeutic Technologies, and Telomere Function in Health and Disease, and Network System Medicine. Important and timely new chapters--such as Promoting Good Health, LGBT Health, Systems of Healthcare, Approach to Medical Consultation, Pharmacogenomics, Antimicrobial Resistance, Worldwide Changes in Patterns of Infectious Diseases, Neuromyelitis Optica, and more--offer the very latest, definitive perspectives on must-know topics in medical education and practice. Updated clinical guidelines, expert opinions, and treatment approaches from renowned editors and authors contribute to the accuracy and immediacy of the text material and present a clear blueprint for optimizing patien
Call Number: E-book onlyISBN: 1264268513Publication Date: 2022
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient by
Learn how to provide dental care to any patient, regardless of existing medical conditions. Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 9th Edition, has been thoroughly revised to give you the information you need to assess common problems, and make safe and healthy dental management decisions. The new addition includes expanded coverage of women's health issues and introduces a process for developing a medical-risk source. Also, each chapter features vivid illustrations and well-organized tables to give you in-depth details and overall summaries to help you get to the root of your future patients' needs. Logical organization of conditions makes it easy for you to understand and follow the material as you prepare to treat patients. Standardized assessment process helps you to ascertain the severity and stability of common medical disorders. Dental management summary table summarizes important factors for consideration in the dental management of medically compromised patients. Over 400 color images provide a visual guide and highlight key information. Dental management box in each chapter allows you to locate key information for evaluating a medically compromised patient. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides you with the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. NEW! Evidence-based process for creating a medical-risk score enables you to determine whether the benefit of treatment outweighs the risk of a complication. NEW! Expanded coverage of women's health issues addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management.
Call Number: IUSD Library Reserve Desk WU113 L778d 2018ISBN: 9780323443555Publication Date: 2017-09-22 (9th ed)
Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Dentistry by
Written by leading American practitioners, the Oxford American Handbooks in Medicine each offer a pocket-sized overview of an entire specialty, featuring instant access to guidance on the conditions that are most likely to be encountered. Precise and prescriptive, the handbooks offer up-to-date advice on examination, investigations, common procedures, and in-patient care. These books will be invaluable resources for residents and students, as well as a useful reference for practitioners. The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry is a dependable manual geared for ultra-quick reference at any time. Part of the worldwide best-selling series, this book provides much more information than a standard handbook in the field. Thin and light, it uses concise, bulleted text, quick reference tabs, four color presentation, and bookmark ribbons to help provide fast answers on the ward. It is ideal for students, residents and anyone wanting a succinct, comprehensive, and affordable volume in the proven format of the Oxford Handbook Series.
ISBN: 9780195189643Publication Date: 2007-12-14
Sedation: a guide to patient management by
Learn how to safely sedate your dental patients and help control their anxiety with Sedation: A Guide to Patient Management, 6th Edition. Written by sedation expert Stanley Malamed, DDS, this concise guide combines essential theory with "how-to" technical instruction to help you master basic techniques in dental sedation and anxiety control. This new sixth edition also incorporates the latest guidelines from the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists, along with vivid images of the most current equipment and procedures used in dental practice today. There is also detailed discussion on how to modify typical treatment protocol to successfully treat different patient populations - including pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients. In all, this is a must-have guide for keeping up to date on the latest techniques in dental sedation and anxiety. The latest practice guidelines established by the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists for sedation by non-anesthesiologists are included throughout the text. Comprehensive coverage combines all aspects of sedation with essential theory and instruction to cover all the information needed to provide safe and effective dental care. Expert authorship from Stanley Malamed, DDS, provides readers with experienced guidance across all areas of sedation dentistry and local anesthesia. Summary tables and boxes support visual learners and serve as useful review and study tools. Coverage of all potential patient groups details how to manage the pain and anxiety of pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients in addition to the subtle changes that may be needed in normal treatment protocol. NEW! Extensive content revisions incorporate the most up-to-date information on the advances in sedation dentistry including the latest research, clinical experience, and literature. NEW! Updated photos and art reflect the latest equipment and procedures used in dental practice today.
Call Number: IUSD Library Reserve Desk WO460 M236s 2018ISBN: 9780323400534Publication Date: 2017-06-30 (6th ed)
