LibGuides: Open Education Resources (IU Indy): Finding OERs

How to find OERs

Finding OERs is a good first step towards creating accessible and affordable learning experiences. This section offers tools and guidance to help you discover OERs tailored to your needs, including general and subject-specific collections. Explore the featured resources to discover textbooks, multimedia, Open Courseware, and other high-quality materials.

For more in-depth support, reach out to your Subject Librarian for syllabus reviews to find OER alternatives.

Use the ISBN of Your Current Textbook to Find Free Alternatives

OER General Respositories

Applied Math & Science Educational Repository
This repository deals heavily in math and science resources, but also gives users access to content dealing with subjects like history, education, and the fine arts.
BC Open Textbook Collection
BCcampus has curated a collection of open textbooks that align with the top 40 highest enrolled first and second year post-secondary subject areas in British Columbia. Many books have been reviewed by faculty and include ancillary resources.
Education Resources from the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development resources to help teachers use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections.
MedEdPORTAL
MedEdPORTAL is a free peer-reviewed publishing venue and dissemination portal designed to support educators and learners as they create and use on-line teaching materials, assessment tools and faculty development resources.
MERLOT
A curated collection of Open Educational Resources, includes an ISBN search for material.
MIT Open Courseware
Discover openly accessible course, materials, and other teaching resources
NIH Bookshelf
Provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
OASIS
(Openly Available Sources Integrated Search). Has gathered more than 155,000+ records from 52 different sources that have been carefully selected in collaboration with SUNY OER Services.
OER Commons
A collection of open education resources from the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME).
Open Textbook Library
Available resources in a variety of disciplines that have been reviewed by faculty.
Pressbook Directory
Provides a directory of Pressbooks titles. Resource has a great filter tool.
Saylor Academy OpenTexts
Saylor Academy offers over 100 open textbooks under a variety of Creative Commons licenses.
Teaching Commons
Open educational resources from leading universities.
WikiEducator
Online community intended for the planning of education projects linked with the development of free content and the development of free content on WikiEducator for free learning.