LibGuides: NEWM N548: 3D Prototyping for Applications in Medicine: 3. Finding Health Data and Statistics

Guides to Finding Health Data

National Library of Medicine Guide to Health Statistics
The Health Statistics and Numerical Data subject guide includes some of the major sources of health and general statistics in the United States and a brief list of international resources. This subject guide is not meant to be comprehensive but to serve as a pointer to major information sources.
Find & Cite Data guide
This is a guide for locating Data and Statistical information. We use the term data to describe numeric, textual, photographic, audio, visual formats that have been produced as a result of or to support research.
Health Related Statistics Guide from IUPUI Ruth Lilly Medical Library
An annotated list of statistical resources on finding specific health data.

General Health Data & Statistics Sources

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Archive of social science data for research and instruction.

CDC: Data & Statistics by Topic
Data and statistics by topic.
CDC: FastStats
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.
CDC: National Hospital Discharge Survey
The National Hospital Discharge Survey (NHDS), which was conducted annually from 1965-2010, was a national probability survey designed to meet the need for information on characteristics of inpatients discharged from non-Federal short-stay hospitals in the United States. Data from the NHDS are available annually and are used to examine important topics of interest in public health and for a variety of activities by governmental, scientific, academic, and commercial institutions.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics: Health Data Interactive
Health Data Interactive presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
ChildStats.gov
The official website of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
Community Health Status Indicators
The goal of Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) is to provide an overview of key health indicators for local communities and to encourage dialogue about actions that can be taken to improve a community’s health.
HealthData.gov
Data from HHS agencies
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. NHANES is a major program of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
National Survey of Children’s Health
The National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) touches on multiple, intersecting aspects of children’s lives. The survey includes physical and mental health status, access to quality health care, as well as information on the child’s family, neighborhood and social context.
more...less...
The Data Resource Center takes the results from the NSCH and makes them easily accessible to parents, researchers, community health providers and anyone interested in maternal and child health. Data on this site are for the nation and for each state plus the District of Columbia. State and national data can be further refined to assess differences by race/ethnicity, income, special health care needs status and a variety of other important demographic and health status characteristics.
NLM TOXNET
Your resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
SEER Program: Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results
From the National Cancer Institute. Information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States. Statistical data, publications, and monographs available online.

Indiana Health Statistics

Health Professional Shortage Areas & Medically Underserved Area Designations (Indiana) (Indiana State Dept of Health)

Indiana County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (Robert Wood Johnson Foundation)

Indiana State Department of Health Data & Statistics

Indiana INdicators (Indiana State Dept of Health, Indiana Hospital Association, Indiana Business Research Center, IU Center on Public Policy)

Indiana Health Workforce Studies (Indiana Area Health Education Centers AHEC)

Indiana Hospital Association Data - members can access their files

Indiana State Dashboard (AHRQ - National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports)

Indiana Benchmarks (AHRQ - National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports)

Kids Count in Indiana Data Book - Indiana Youth Institute

Research & Data - Indiana (National Association of Community Health Centers)

State Health Facts - Indiana (Kaiser Family Foundation)

Hospitals & Medicare/Medicaid Data

AHA Data Viewer (American Hospital Association)
American Hospital Association’s proprietary information from the AHA Annual Survey of Hospitals, IT Supplement Survey and AHA membership data.

American Hospital Directory (Online available only to IU-affiliated users)

Best Hospitals (U.S. News & World Report)

CMS DataNavigator (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid)
Use the Data Navigator to find data and information products for specific CMS programs, such as Medicare and Medicaid, or on specific health care topics or settings-of-care.

Hospital Compare (Medicare)
Provides information about the quality of care at over 4,000 Medicare-certified hospitals across the country. Use Hospital Compare to find hospitals and compare the quality of their care.

Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems Survey (HCAHPS or CAHPS)
Provided by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid (CMS) and the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ) Standardized survey instrument and data collection methodology for measuring patients' perspectives on hospital care.

Leapfrog Hospital Survey (Leapfrog Group)
Assesses hospital safety, quality, and efficiency based on national performance measures.

National Hospital Ambulatory Medical Care Survey (NHAMCS)
Data on the utilization and provision of ambulatory care services in hospital emergency and outpatient departments and in ambulatory surgery centers. Hospital-based ambulatory surgery centers were first added to this study in 2009, and freestanding ambulatory surgery centers were added in 2010.

National Hospital Care Survey (CDC)
Latest trends affecting hospitals and health care organizations and factors that influence the use of health care resources, the quality of health care and disparities in health care services,

National Hospital Discharge Summary (CDC)
Characteristics of inpatients discharged from non-Federal short-stay hospitals in the United States.

Health Care Expenditures & Cost Utilization

HCUPnet (Agency for Healthcare Research & Policy)
Free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (Agency for Healthcare Research & Policy)
Large-scale surveys & data on families and individuals, medical providers & employers on the cost and use of health care and health insurance.

National Health Expenditure Data (Centers Medicare & Medicaid)