Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist by
With a focus on the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 8th Editionprovides you with an in-depth understanding of the pharmacologic principles needed for safe and effective dental treatment and oral health care. It discusses drug properties and mechanisms of action, dosages, intended effects, interactions, and adverse reactions - both for the medications a patient may already be taking and for the drugs prescribed by the dentist. This new edition has been updated throughout to give you a firm foundation in pharmacology in order to assess and educate patients so they can maintain optimal oral health! IMPROVED! Test Bank with cognitive leveling based on Bloom's Taxonomy mapped to the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) blueprint. Comprehensive coverage with a dental focus provides you with an in-depth understanding of the most commonly used drugs, how they work, and how they affect patients' oral health and dental treatment options. Multiple opportunities for classroom and board exam prep offers summaries and review questions at the end of each chapter, helping you to assess your knowledge of the material. Key terms are bolded and in color within each chapter and defined in a handy glossary. Full-color design engages the reader and includes additional illustrations showing basic principles and internal processes, along with photographs of oral conditions and side effects. Separate drug index provides easy look-up of specific drugs and types of drugs. Quick-reference appendixes include resources such as the top 200 drugs, medical acronyms, and information on herbal and dietary supplements. NEW! Updated drug content throughout, including new side effects and warnings for many commonly seen drugs. NEW! Elsevier Animation Collection clips on Evolve includes systemic anatomy and physiology.
Case Studies in Dental Hygiene by
Case Studies in Dental Hygiene, Third Edition, is designed to guide the development of criti-cal-thinking skills and the application of theory to care at all levels of dental hygiene education-from beginning to advanced students. This textbook is designed to be used throughout the dental hygiene curriculum. Because the questions and decisions regarding treatment of each case span the dental hygiene sciences and clinical practice protocols, this book will find a place in enhanc-ing every course required of dental hygiene students. Introducing this text at the beginning of the educational experience may help the student realize early on the link between theory and patient care. Students then progress through the program with a heightened awareness of evidence-based practice. Students also perceive an increase in confidence regarding preparation for board examina-tions when they have been given the opportunity to practice case-based decision making. Case Studies in Dental Hygiene, Third Edition, is a viable study guide to help students prepare for suc-cess on national, regional, and state examinations with a patient care focus. This revised edition also is an excellent review text for the graduating dental hygiene student who is preparing to take the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination.
Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist by
Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Fourteenth Edition progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward format to ensure students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment.This cornerstone text, used in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, has been meticulously updated by previous co-authors, Linda Boyd, and Lisa Mallonee to even better meet the needs of today's students and faculty, while reflecting the current state of practice in dental hygiene. Maintaining the hallmark outline format, the Fourteenth Edition continues to offer the breadth and depth of coverage necessary not only for foundation courses bur for use throughout the entire dental hygiene curriculum.The workbook is now included in Navigate Premier Access! The engaging workbook reinforces important concepts of the main text and provides hands-on exercises that put those concepts into practice.
Community Oral Health Practice for the Dental Hygienist by
Community Oral Health Practice for the Dental Hygienist, 4th Edition, helps you acquire the skills to improve the oral health of people throughout various communities and build a successful career in the public health sector. Now in full color, this edition contains key updates on Healthy People 2020, the Affordable Care Act, health literacy, access to care, and more. Test-taking strategies, cases, and application exercises, as well as practice quizzes online, provide a wealth of opportunities for classroom and board exam preparation. Comprehensive, cutting-edge content delivers everything you need to know to succeed in community dental hygiene practice. Trusted editor Christine Beatty draws on decades of teaching, practicing, and writing on community oral health to make this complex content approachable for those new to public health. Chapter on test-taking strategies helps you confidently prepare for the community oral health portion of the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE). Expanded Community cases on the companion Evolve website test your ability to apply your knowledge to common scenarios you may encounter as a dental hygienist. Up-to-date information on national initiatives such as Healthy People 2020 and the Surgeon General's report details the goals and guidelines of various government programs. Dental hygienist mini-profiles provide real-world perspectives to help you prepare for a career in public health. Applying Your Knowledge sections suggest ways your can begin improving oral health in your community. Guiding principles, learning objectives, vocabulary terms, and chapter summaries help you study more efficiently. NEW! Content updates include Healthy People 2020 ,health literacy, teledentistry, the Affordable Care Act, oral health workforce models, access to care, interprofessional practice, and more. NEW! Full-color design highlights key concepts within each chapter. NEW! Art program delivers more photos to help drive home key concepts.
Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice by
Emphasizing evidence-based research and clinical competencies, Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice, 4th Edition, provides easy-to-understand coverage of the dental hygienist's roles and responsibilities in today's practice. It offers a clear approach to science and theory, a step-by-step guide to core dental hygiene procedures, and realistic scenarios to help you develop skills in decision-making. New chapters and content focus on evidence-based practice, palliative care, professional issues, and the electronic health record. Written by Michele Leonardi Darby, Margaret M. Walsh, and a veritable Who's Who of expert contributors, Dental Hygiene follows the Human Needs Conceptual Model with a focus on client-centered care that takes the entire person into consideration. UNIQUE! Human Needs Conceptual Model framework follows Maslow's human needs theory, helping hygienists treat the whole patient - not just specific diseases. Comprehensive coverage addresses the need-to-know issues in dental hygiene - from the rationale behind the need for dental hygiene care through assessment, diagnosis, care planning, implementation, pain and anxiety control, the care of individuals with special needs, and practice management. Step-by-step procedure boxes list the equipment required and the steps involved in performing key procedures. Rationales for the steps are provided in printable PDFs online. Critical Thinking exercises and Scenario boxes encourage application and problem solving, and help prepare students for the case-based portion of the NBDHE. Client Education boxes list teaching points that the dental hygienist may use to educate clients on at-home daily oral health care. High-quality and robust art program includes full-color illustrations and clinical photographs as well as radiographs to show anatomy, complex clinical procedures, and modern equipment. Legal, Ethical, and Safety Issues boxes address issues related to risk prevention and management. Expert authors Michele Darby and Margaret Walsh lead a team of international contributors consisting of leading dental hygiene instructors, researchers, and practitioners. NEW chapters on evidence-based practice, the development of a professional portfolio, and palliative care provide research-based findings and practical application of topics of interest in modern dental hygiene care. NEW content addresses the latest research and best practices in attaining clinical competency, including nutrition and community health guidelines, nonsurgical periodontal therapy, digital imaging, local anesthesia administration, pharmacology, infection control, and the use of the electronic health record (EHR) within dental hygiene practice. NEW photographs and illustrations show new guidelines and equipment, as well as emerging issues and trends. NEW! Companion product includes more than 50 dental hygiene procedures videos in areas such as periodontal instrumentation, local anesthesia administration, dental materials manipulation, common preventive care, and more. Sold separately.
The Dental Hygienist's Guide to Nutritional Care by
Learn how to apply nutritional principles to promote optimal patient care! The Dental Hygienist's Guide to Nutritional Care, 5th Edition explains how teaching proper nutrition can improve your clients' oral and systemic health. Case studies and clear, full-color photos and illustrations provide a basis for assessing, diagnosing, planning, implementing, and evaluating the care of patients. In addition, a solid foundation in nutrition prepares you for the subject's increased emphasis on the NBDHE examination. Written by an interdisciplinary author team with expertise in nutrition and dental hygiene, this book was the first nutritional guide designed specifically for dental hygienists! UNIQUE! Biochemistry chapter covers the essential concepts tested on the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE). UNIQUE! Coverage of vitamins and minerals is based on the oral effects of micronutrients. Clinically relevant applications to dental hygiene include a focus on patient education and dental hygiene considerations in each chapter. Case studies and Health Applications demonstrate how nutrition concepts can be applied to specific patient situations. Learning features include pretests and key terms highlighted in each chapter, with definitions in the glossary. Practice quizzes online allow you to test your comprehension, and include feedback and remediation for incorrect answers. NEW! Updated content addresses interdisciplinary practice and the FDA's Food Safety Modernization Act, with expanded coverage of older adults, vitamin D, and nutrigenomics. NEW! Coverage of the latest federal nutrition standards includes the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Nutrition Facts label, and more. NEW! UPDATED full-color illustrations include additional clinical photos as well as food-source photos in the micronutrient chapters.
Essentials of Dental Radiography for Dental Assistants and Hygienists by
ESSENTIALS OF DENTAL RADIOGRAPHY, 9/e is a clear, up-to-date, and student-friendly text that tightly links oral radiological principles with modern practice. It presents all information needed for introductory courses in dental radiography, preparing students for board and licensing examinations while offering real-world resources for clinical practice and patient management. Coverage includes: historical perspectives, radiation basics, biologic effects and protection, dental X-ray image receptors, processing techniques; dental radiographer fundamentals, intraoral and extraoral techniques, radiographic errors, quality assurance; mounting and viewing radiographs, and patient management. This Ninth Edition integrates coverage of digital imaging throughout, presents paralleling and bisecting techniques in separate chapters, and adds a new chapter on safety and environmental responsibilities. It also contains many new study questions and improved images.
Evidence-Based Dentistry for the Dental Hygienist by
Like any other dental professional, dental hygienists must practice evidence-based dentistry (EBD) to provide the best care to their patients, whether it be through scaling and root planing, caries prevention, or patient education. This book is intended as a textbook for dental hygienists to learn the importance of EBD in the practice of dental hygiene as well as how to implement EBD practices and share EBD findings among office staff. As the dental knowledge base evolves and scientific discoveries are made, dental hygienists must understand how to seek out and evaluate findings and, if appropriate, apply them in their clinical practice, and this book provides all the necessary tools to do just that.
Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist with Navigate Advantage Access by
With a comprehensive and student-friendly format, Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist, Sixth Edition equips dental hygiene students with modern, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classification of periodontal disease. Using an easy-to-follow, detailed outline format, leading experts in the field provide readers with an accessible account of the complex subject of periodontics. Rich with engaging features and student resources, the Sixth Edition has been revised and updated throughout to reflect the hygienist's increasingly important role in periodontal therapy, while detailing how students can confidently apply what they have learned to clinical patient care.
Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team by
Emphasizing patient safety and disease prevention in the dental office, Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team, 7th Edition, is an essential resource for all members of the dental team. With discussions ranging from microbiology concepts to protocols for clinical asepsis, this comprehensive, highly practical text features the most up-to-date regulatory recommendations, as well as coverage of patient safety preparation and infection control breaches. Step-by-step instructions make it easy to perform safety procedures and use the supplies and equipment needed to prevent the spread of infectious disease, while real-world case scenarios present opportunities for critical thinking and application. Comprehensive coverage looks at infection control and prevention from the perspective of all dental team members. Easy-to-follow, step-by-step procedures are provided for skills that dental team members must master, each presented with a goal, materials, chronological steps, and rationales for the performance of each step. Review questions ensure your comprehension of the material and provide practice for classroom and board examinations. Key terms begin each chapter and are highlighted within text discussions and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Chapter learning objectives help you set goals for what you will accomplish and serve as checkpoints for comprehension and study tools in preparation for examinations. NEW! Content regarding COVID-19 examines its effects on infection control in the dental office, including a new appendix outlining CDC guidance for dental settings. NEW! Updated coverage of the sterilization of dental handpieces is based on the April 2018 CDC update. UPDATED! Case scenarios represent the most current infection control practices for today's dental practice and help you apply what you've learned to real-world situations. UPDATED! Artwork throughout the text reflects the latest dental equipment and supplies.
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene by
Your one-stop review for the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE), Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene, 7th Edition is the most trusted review and study tool on the market. A total of 2,500 review questions including four online timed practice exams -- all with answers and rationales for remediation -- make this book stand out as a student favorite. Already known for its in-depth coverage, an easy-to-use outline format, and expert authorship, this review parallels the NBDHE with case studies, the "testlet" format for community health and research content, an emphasis on computer-based testing, and coverage of dynamic areas such as infection control and local anesthesia administration. Expert author Michele Darby provides the NBDHE review tool you cannot afford to be without! A comprehensive review includes all the necessary content for the NBDHE, with 2,500 review questions including four simulated exams. A logical organization covers the three main areas of the NBDHE: (1) the scientific basis for dental hygiene practice, (2) the provision of clinical dental hygiene services, and (3) community health and research principles. NBDHE-style review questions offer practice and self-assessment relating to key content. A new 350-question examination complete with Components A and B mimics the format of the NBDHE and is included in the back of the book and on the companion Evolve website; it provides answers, rationales, and a timer function. Three additional timed simulated practice examinations are provided on the companion website for additional test-taking experience. Case-based questions prepare you for the case studies and scenarios emphasized on the NBDHE. An outline format allows for easy review and study. Illustrations, diagrams, clinical photographs, and radiographs help in recognizing suspected pathologic processes and interpreting radiographs. Tables and boxes summarize concepts and procedures. Unique! Website tables in each chapter provide a quick reference to key sites for further research and study. Expert authors are leading educators, researchers, and practitioners, each of whom has an in-depth knowledge of what it takes to succeed on the NBDHE. 1,450 NEW practice questions are added to this edition for a more complete review. Updated content reflects changes and advances in areas such as infection control, pharmacology, digital imaging, and local anesthesia administration. Expanded case studies promote critical thinking and provide practice with the complex cases that make up Component B of the examination. NEW full-color photographs, illustrations, and radiographs accurately represent dental conditions. Labeling and identification exercises are included, with electronic flashcards for added vocabulary practice.
Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist by
Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist: With General Pathology Introductions, 8th Edition offers the most trusted general and oral pathology information that's tailored to the specific role and responsibilities of the dental hygienist, while reflecting the content on the national board exam. Authors Ibsen and Peters incorporate the ideal mix of clinical photographs, radiographs, and focused discussions to help you learn how to successfully identify, understand, evaluate, and document disease formations at the skeletal and cellular levels. Tailored content focuses on the role of the dental hygienist in oral health care. Trusted author team makes this a text you can rely on to provide authoritative coverage of oral pathology. Pathology synopsis tables provide at-a-glance summaries to help you focus on the most critical information for each lesion, disease, or condition. Learning objectives clearly define expected outcomes for each chapter. Vocabulary resources include key term listings with definitions and pronunciations and a back-of-book glossary for handy UPDATED! Art program includes the latest high-quality radiographs and color clinical photos. REVISED! Chapter review questions written in the same multiple-choice style and formats as the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination provide valuable study and review opportunities.
Practice Management for the Dental Team by
Learn the skills you need to manage a modern dental business. Practice Management for the Dental Team 9th Edition is a comprehensive, one-stop resource that presents practical information on everything from managing patients to running the business. This unique text includes a wide range of dental office skills which are mapped to the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) test blueprint including technology, communications, appointment setting, dental charting, business office procedures, financial arrangements, and more! New to the ninth edition is even more in-depth information on alternative workforce models, production, insurance, and inventory along with an added emphasis on roles of the entire dentistry team. Plus, this is the only product on the market that includes Eaglesoft screen shots and practice management software for a fully realistic office experience. Comprehensive coverage on the business of managing a dental office provides vital information to ensure the success of any dental practice. UNIQUE! Emphasis on roles of the entire dental team featured throughout text. UNIQUE! Patterson Dental EagleSoft screen shots and exercises equip you with valuable realistic practice experience. Practice quizzes for each chapter on the Evolve website help your test comprehension and prepare you for classroom and board exams. Expert author Betty Ladley Finkbeiner imparts knowledge and advice from years of teaching and practical experience and wide reach in dental assisting education. Key terminology defined in the chapter's glossary and called out in boldface color within chapter discussions helps you to understand dental practice and clinical dentistry terminology essential to the success of any office manager. Learning Activities and Practice Notes encourage you to apply the content to realistic office situations and convey important tips and advice. Learning outcomes at the beginning of each chapter frame the content and serve as checkpoints for comprehension and study. Summary tables and boxes provide easy-to-read summaries of text discussions that support visual learners and serve as useful review and study tools. Bibliographical citations direct you to targeted sources of information where additional dental-related information can be located. Appendixes provide supplemental information for quick and handy office reference. NEW! Content includes the latest information on alternative workforce models, dental insurance and reimbursement, production, and inventory planning UPDATED! Art program with modern illustrations and photographs helps you to understand today's office environment, tools, and equipment. EXPANDED and IMPROVED! Test Bank with cognitive leveling and mapping to the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) test blueprint.
IUPUI