LibGuides: Historic Indiana State Documents: Map & Atlas Collections

Featured Collection

Maps are often beautiful illustrations of our history, the human-environmental interaction, and natural features of our state and its communities. Maps record settlement patterns, political boundaries, transportation routes, and land ownership. Maps contain invaluable information for historians, genealogists, and citizens.

Historic Maps & Atlases

Historic Indiana Atlases (IUPUI)
The resources in this collection are historical atlases of various Indiana counties including Hamilton, Henry, Madison and Putnam. These books not only provide maps of Hoosier areas dating from 1875 to 1901, but also provide rich historical details of the central Indiana region. Within this collection there are narrative histories, biographical information about Indiana pioneers, detailed illustrations of people and places, statistical tables, and much more.
Historic Indiana Maps (IUPUI)
The resources in this collection are historical maps of Indiana, its counties and cities, from the collections at Indiana University. Efforts were made to represent various areas of our state, but selection was based on G. K. Hall and Co.'s Checklist of Printed Maps of the Middle West to 1900 Volume 3 covering the state of Indiana.
Historic Indiana Plat Books (IUPUI)
The Plat Books of Indiana Counties are historic guides to the communities of Indiana, showing townships, roads and section numbers. These geographic resources were originally created by Sidwell Studio and W. W. Hixson & Co. between approximately 1925 and 1941.
Indiana Historic Atlases (Ball State)
The Indiana Historic Atlases digital collection features 18 historic atlases and 404 individual maps of Indiana dating from 1874-1921, including Delaware County, Parke County, and St. Joseph County. Included are the complete atlases and the individual maps from each Atlas. These maps are a valuable resource for those interested in the growth of Indiana and individual counties in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Indiana Natural Resources Maps (Ball State)
The Indiana Natural Resources Maps digital collection depict natural gas, coal, petroleum deposits as well as the locations of stone quarries, pipelines, and wells from the 1880s to the early 1900s.