Statistics

This wide-ranging, jargon-free dictionary contains over 2,300 entries on all aspects of statistics, including terms used in computing, mathematics, and probability. It also includes biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field and coverage of statistical journals and societies. While embracing the whole multi-disciplinary spectrum of this complex subject, information is presented in a clear and practical manner. This edition features recommended web links for many entries, accessible via the Dictionary of Statistics website, which provide valuable extra information. This edition features expanded coverage of applied statistics. Entries are generously illustrated with 130 useful figures and diagrams, and include worked examples where applicable. Appendices include a historical calendar of important statistical events, lists of statistical and mathematical notation, and statistical tables.

SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Measurements and Statistics. In fields as varying as education, politics and health care, assessment and the use of measurement and statistics have become an integral part of almost every activity undertaken. These activities require the organization of ideas, the generation of hypotheses, the collection of data and the interpretation, illustration and analysis of data. No matter where we look, this critical analysis is more important than ever in an age where information - and lots of it - is readily available. The average consumer must know what a `median′ is or what the connotations of the term `significant′ are when intelligently reading The Times, Science News or a tabloid. Likewise, students, practitioners and researchers must grapple with sophisticated terms and techniques when conducting research, writing proposals and analyzing data. The terms themselves have proven to be anxiety-provoking. The Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics, in two-volumes, presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics in a non-intimidating and accessible style. The Encyclopedia is specifically written to appeal to undergraduate students as well as practitioners, researchers and consumers of information. Whilst there are reference works covering statistics and assessment in depth, none provide as comprehensive a resource in as focused and approachable a manner as this encyclopedia. Key themes include: - biographies; - charts, graphs and visual displays; - computer topics and tools; - concepts and issues in measurement; - concepts and issues in statistics; - data and data reduction techniques; - descriptive statistics; - evaluation; - experimental methods; - inferential statistics; - organizations and publications; - predictions and estimations; - probability; - qualitative methods; - samples, sampling and distribution; - statistical techniques; - statistical tests; - tests by name. Key features include: - coverage of every major facet of these two different, but highly integrated disciplines with reference to mean, mode and median; reliability, validity, significance and correlation without overwhelming the informed reader; - cross-disciplinary coverage, with contributions from and applications to the fields of: psychology; education; sociology; human development; political science; business and management; and public health; - cross-referenced terms, a list of further readings and Website URLs after each entry, as well as an extensive set of appendices and an annotated list of organizations relevant to measurement and statistics. Appendices: - Appendix A is a guide to basic statistics for those readers who require an instructional step-by-step presentation of basic concepts in statistics and measurement; - Appendix B is a table of critical values used in hypothesis testing and an important part of any reference in this area; - Appendix C represents a collection of some most important and useful measurement and statistics Websites.

The Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics presents the essential information about statistical tests, concepts, and analytical methods in language that is accessible to practitioners and students of the vast community using statistics in medicine, engineering, physical science, life science, social science, and business/economics. The reference is alphabetically arranged to provide quick access to the fundamental tools of statistical methodology and biographies of famous statisticians. The more than 500 entries include definitions, history, mathematical details, limitations, examples, references, and further readings. All entries include cross-references as well as the key citations. The back matter includes a timeline of statistical inventions. This reference will be an enduring resource for locating convenient overviews about this essential field of study.

The Third Edition of the Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide for the Social Sciences is THE sourcebook of simple definitions and explanations of statistical and statistics-related concepts. Since the publication of the bestselling Second Edition, author W. Paul Vogt has examined relevant literature in the social sciences to keep readers alert to the appearance of new methods, new language, and newly popular terms. The Third Edition has been thoroughly revised and expanded, with 400 additional definitions and illustrations compiled from readers' requests and suggestions!

Statistics is the field of knowledge concerned with data collection, data analysis, and data interpretation and presentation. Methodology comprises the many and varied structured ways in which research is conducted -- answering the fundamental question: How does the researcher effectively gather information for particular purposes? Both are core topics underlying the discipline of psychology and the other social, physical, and medical sciences. Moreover, a basic understanding of the language of statistics and research methods is required for any serious student, scientist, and practitioner in these fields. The APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods is a focused reference resource that explores the lexicon of these two profoundly interrelated areas. It provides Over 4,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions; Balanced coverage in such core areas as research planning and design, psychometrics, quantitative and qualitative measurements, and data analysis; Hundreds of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's understanding of related topics; More than 100 illustrations of some of the common and uncommon data display methods; A Quick Guide to Use that explains stylistic and formal features at a glance; and Appendixes listing common abbreviations and statistical symbols

If you work with data and need easy access to clear, reliable definitions and explanations of modern statistical and statistics-related concepts, then look no further than this dictionary. Nearly 4000 terms are defined, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational and graphical aspects. Entries are provided for standard and specialized statistical software. In addition, short biographies of over 100 important statisticians are given. Definitions provide enough mathematical detail to clarify concepts and give standard formulae when these are helpful. The majority of definitions then give a reference to a book or article where the user can seek further or more specialized information, and many are accompanied by graphical material to aid understanding.

Think you can't have fun learning statistics? Think again. The Manga Guide to Statistics will teach you everything you need to know about this essential discipline, while entertaining you at the same time. With its unique combination of Japanese-style comics called manga and serious educational content, the EduManga format is already a hit in Japan. In The Manga Guide to Statistics, our heroine Rui is determined to learn about statistics to impress the dreamy Mr. Igarashi and begs her father for a tutor. Soon she's spending her Saturdays with geeky, bespectacled Mr. Yamamoto, who patiently teaches her all about the fundamentals of statistics: topics like data categorization, averages, graphing, and standard deviation. After all her studying, Rui is confident in her knowledge of statistics, including complex concepts like probability, coefficients of correlation, hypothesis tests, and tests of independence. But is it enough to impress her dream guy? Or maybe there's someone better, right in front of her? Reluctant statistics students of all ages will enjoy learning along with Rui in this charming, easy-to-read guide, which uses real-world examples like teen magazine quizzes, bowling games, test scores, and ramen noodle prices. Examples, exercises, and answer keys help you follow along and check your work. An appendix showing how to perform statistics calculations in Microsoft Excel makes it easy to put Rui's lessons into practice. This EduManga book is a translation from a bestselling series in Japan, co-published with Ohmsha, Ltd. of Tokyo, Japan.

Numbers and statistical claims dominate today's news. Politics, budgets, crime analysis, medical issues, and sports reporting all demand numbers. Now in its third edition, News & Numbers focuses on how to evaluate statistical claims in science, health, medicine, and politics. It does so by helping readers answer three key questions about all scientific studies, polls, and other statistical claims: "What can I believe?" "What does it mean?" and "How can I explain it to others?" Updated throughout, this long overdue third edition brings this classic text up-to-date with the 21st century with a complete updating of examples, case studies, and stories. The text emphasises clear thinking and common sense approaches for understanding, analyzing and explaining statistics, and terms throughout the book are explained in easy-to-understand, nontechnical language. Much new material has been added to ensure the text maintains its pertinent approach to the subject, including: A section on computer modelling Additional chapters on risks and 'missing numbers' Updated sections on health plans and insurance, including updates on President Obama's health system overhaul & new material on health care costs and quality

'Stats Means Business' is an introductory textbook aimed at Business Studies students who require guidance in the area of statistics. It minimizes technical language, provides clear definition of key terms, and gives emphasis to interpretation rather than technique. 'Stats Means Business' enables readers to: * appreciate the importance of statistical analysis in business * understand statistical techniques * develop judgment in the selection of appropriate statistical techniques * interpret the results of statistical analysis There is an overwhelming need for successful managers to be able to deal competently with numerical information and this text is developed with this in mind by providing worked examples and review questions which are rooted in viable business contexts. Each chapter includes guidance on using Excel and Minitab to produce the analysis described and explained in the chapter. The start of every chapter identifies aims and summarizes content and each is written in an accessible style. Model solutions are provided for three problems in each chapter and further solutions are available on a web site to accompany the book. The book is suitable for first year undergraduate courses, MBA Programmes and anyone who needs support and guidance in the area of statistics.

A practical guide to understanding how key economic and market statistics drive financial market trends The recent global financial crisis stressed the need for economists who understand how key economic and market statistics drive financial market trends and how to mitigate the risks for businesses that those trends affect. Trading Economics provides guidance for navigating key market figures in a convenient and practical format. Emphasizing the link between economic data and market movements, this book analyzes surveys, economic growth statistics, inflation, labor markets, international trade, monetary and fiscal indicators, and their relevance in financial markets. It bypasses complex terminology to offer a hands-on, accessible introduction to financial statistics and how to profit from them. Offers clear illustrations and an easy-to-read layout to teach you how to trade profitably in financial markets and minimizes risk for your business Written Trevor Williams and Victoria Turton, authoritative public figures with experience working on the New York Stock Exchange Includes a website featuring a blog and new surveys as they develop accompanies the book Complete with worked examples and updated information, Trading Economics is an essential, comprehensive guide to understanding every aspect of financial market trends and how to navigate them to your advantage.

Holistic approach to understanding medical statistics This hands-on guide is much more than a basic medical statistics introduction. It equips you with the statistical tools required for evidence-based clinical research. Each chapter provides a clear step-by-step guide to each statistical test with practical instructions on how to generate and interpret the numbers, and present the results as scientific tables or graphs. Showing you how to: analyse data with the help of data set examples (Click here to download datasets) select the correct statistics and report results for publication or presentation understand and critically appraise results reported in the literature Each statistical test is linked to the research question and the type of study design used. There are also checklists for critically appraising the literature and web links to useful internet sites. Clear and concise explanations, combined with plenty of examples and tabulated explanations are based on the authors? popular medical statistics courses. Critical appraisal guidelines at the end of each chapter help the reader evaluate the statistical data in their particular contexts.

Statistics can be an intimidating subject for many students and clinicians. This concise text introduces the basic concepts that underpin medical statistics, and using everyday clinical examples, highlights the importance of statistical principles to understanding and implementing research findings in routine clinical care. This book will be an essential tool for students, clinicians in training, nurses and GPs.