Computer Science

Previously named A Dictionary of Computing, this bestselling dictionary has been renamed A Dictionary of Computer Science, and fully revised by a team of computer specialists, making it the most up-to-date and authoritative guide to computing available. Containing over 6,500 entries and withexpanded coverage of multimedia, computer applications, networking, and personal computer science, it is a comprehensive reference work encompassing all aspects of the subject and is as valuable for home and office users as it is indispensable for students of computer science.Terms are defined in a jargon-free and concise manner with helpful examples where relevant. The dictionary contains approximately 150 new entries including cloud computing, cross-site scripting, iPad, semantic attack, smartphone, and virtual learning environment. Recommended web links for manyentries, accessible via the Dictionary of Computer Science companion website, provide valuable further information and the appendices include useful resources such as generic domain names, file extensions, and the Greek alphabet.This dictionary is suitable for anyone who uses computers, and is ideal for students of computer science and the related fields of IT, maths, physics, media communications, electronic engineering, and natural sciences.

Written by leading researchers, the 2nd Edition of the Dictionary of Computer Vision & Image Processing is a comprehensive and reliable resource which now provides explanations of over 3500 of the most commonly used terms across image processing, computer vision and related fields including machine vision. It offers clear and concise definitions with short examples or mathematical precision where necessary for clarity that ultimately makes it a very usable reference for new entrants to these fields at senior undergraduate and graduate level, through to early career researchers to help build up knowledge of key concepts. As the book is a useful source for recent terminology and concepts, experienced professionals will also find it a valuable resource for keeping up to date with the latest advances. New features of the 2nd Edition: Contains more than 1000 new terms, notably an increased focus on image processing and machine vision terms; Includes the addition of reference links across the majority of terms pointing readers to further information about the concept under discussion so that they can continue to expand their understanding; Now available as an eBook with enhanced content: approximately 50 videos to further illustrate specific terms; active cross-linking between terms so that readers can easily navigate from one related term to another and build up a full picture of the topic in question; and hyperlinked references to fully embed the text in the current literature.

No matter what DBMS you are using--Oracle, DB2, SQL Server, MySQL, PostgreSQL--misunderstandings can always arise over the precise meanings of terms, misunderstandings that can have a serious effect on the success of your database projects. For example, here are some common database terms: attribute, BCNF, consistency, denormalization, predicate, repeating group, join dependency. Do you know what they all mean? Are you sure? The New Relational Database Dictionary defines all of these terms and many, many more. Carefully reviewed for clarity, accuracy, and completeness, this book is an authoritative and comprehensive resource for database professionals, with over 1700 entries (many with examples) dealing with issues and concepts arising from the relational model of data. DBAs, database designers, DBMS implementers, application developers, and database professors and students can find the information they need on a daily basis, information that isn't readily available anywhere else.

Increase profitability, elevate work culture, and exceed productivity goals through DevOps practices. More than ever, the effective management of technology is critical for business competitiveness. For decades, technology leaders have struggled to balance agility, reliability, and security. The consequences of failure have never been greater--whether it's the healthcare.gov debacle, cardholder data breaches, or missing the boat with Big Data in the cloud. And yet, high performers using DevOps principles, such as Google, Amazon, Facebook, Etsy, and Netflix, are routinely and reliably deploying code into production hundreds, or even thousands, of times per day. Following in the footsteps of The Phoenix Project, The DevOps Handbook shows leaders how to replicate these incredible outcomes, by showing how to integrate Product Management, Development, QA, IT Operations, and Information Security to elevate your company and win in the marketplace.

The Handbook of Human Factors in Web Design covers basic human factors issues relating to screen design, input devices, and information organization and processing, as well as addresses newer features which will become prominent in the next generation of Web technologies. These include multimodal interfaces, wireless capabilities, and agents t

This book gives a comprehensive overview on Software Product Management (SPM) for beginners as well as best practices, methodology and in-depth discussions for experienced product managers. This includes product strategy, product planning, participation in strategic management activities and orchestration of the functional units of the company. The book is based on the results of the International Software Product Management Association (ISPMA) which is led by a group of SPM experts from industry and research with the goal to foster software product management excellence across industries. This book can be used as textbook for ISPMA-based education and as guide for anybody interested in SPM as one of the most exciting and challenging disciplines in the business of software. Hans-Bernd Kittlaus is the Chairman of ISPMA and owner and managing director of InnoTivum Consulting, Germany. Samuel Fricker is Board Member of ISPMA and Professor at FHNW, Switzerland. 

Computer security touches every part of our daily lives from our computers and connected devices to the wireless signals around us. Breaches have real and immediate financial, privacy, and safety consequences. This handbook has compiled advice from top professionals working in the real world about how to minimize the possibility of computer security breaches in your systems. Written for professionals and college students, it provides comprehensive best guidance about how to minimize hacking, fraud, human error, the effects of natural disasters, and more. This essential and highly-regarded reference maintains timeless lessons and is fully revised and updated with current information on security issues for social networks, cloud computing, virtualization, and more.

The Game Maker's Companion is the long-awaited sequel to The Game Maker's Apprentice. This book picks up where the last book left off, advancing your game development journey with some seriously impressive gaming projects. This time you'll learn how to make professional-quality platform games with solid collision detection and slick control mechanisms and you'll get acquainted with a long-lost icon of platform gaming history on the way. You'll go on to discover techniques to add depth and believability to the characters and stories in your games, including The Monomyth, cut scene storyboarding, and character archetypes. This culminates in the creation of an original atmospheric platform-adventure which will take your GML programming skills to new heights. There's even a handy reference section at the back of the book which will be invaluable for adding common features to your own games. With contributions from four games industry professionals and a highly respected member of the Game Maker community, The Game Maker's Companion is another labor of love that will give you even more hours of enjoyment than the original. If you already own Game Maker, then you really must own this book as well.

Winner of a 2013 CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title Award The third edition of a groundbreaking reference, The Human-Computer Interaction Handbook: Fundamentals, Evolving Technologies, and Emerging Applications raises the bar for handbooks in this field. It is the largest, most complete compilation of HCI theories, principles, advances, case st

The Springer Handbook for Computational Intelligence is the first book covering the basics, the state-of-the-art and important applications of the dynamic and rapidly expanding discipline of computational intelligence. This comprehensive handbook makes readers familiar with a broad spectrum of approaches to solve various problems in science and technology. Possible approaches include, for example, those being inspired by biology, living organisms and animate systems. Content is organized in seven parts:  foundations; fuzzy logic; rough sets; evolutionary computation; neural networks; swarm intelligence and hybrid computational intelligence systems. Each Part is supervised by its own Part Editor(s) so that high-quality content as well as completeness are assured.

Consolidating recent research in the area, the Handbook on Mobile and Ubiquitous Computing: Status and Perspective illustrates the design, implementation, and deployment of mobile and ubiquitous systems, particularly in mobile and ubiquitous environments, modeling, database components, and wireless infrastructures. Supplying an overarching perspective, the book is ideal for researchers, graduate students, and industry practitioners in computer science and engineering interested in recent developments in mobile and ubiquitous computing. It discusses new trends in intelligent systems, reviews sensory input and multimedia information, and examines embedded real-time systems. With coverage that spans security, privacy, and trust, the book is divided into six parts: Mobile and Ubiquitous Computing--illustrates the concepts, design, implementation, and deployment of mobile and ubiquitous systems Smart Environments and Agent Systems--discusses a new trend toward intelligent systems that are completely connected, proactive, intuitive, and constantly available Human-Computer Interaction and Multimedia Computing--describes guidelines for designing multisensory input and output for mobile devices Security, Privacy, and Trust Management--presents an approach to dynamically establish trust between a system and its mobile client in a flexible manner using a multi-agent negotiation mechanism Embedded Real-Time Systems--introduces novel work on how mobile, ubiquitous, and intelligence computing can be realized Networking Sensing and Communications--covers challenges, designs, and prototype solutions for establishing, managing, and maintaining current sensor networks in mobile and ubiquitous computing environments Containing the contributions of more than 70 researchers, practitioners, and academics from around the world, the book brings together the latest research on the subject to provide an understanding of the issues being addressed in the field. Filled with extensive references in each chapter, it provides you with the tools to participate in the design, implementation, and deployment of systems that are connected, proactive, intuitive, and constantly available.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,  authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Uncertainty and risk, meet planning and action. Reinforce your organization's security posture using the expert information contained in this tactical guide. The Computer Incident Response Planning Handbook: Executable Plans for Protecting Information at Risk shows you how to build and manage successful response plans for the cyber incidents that have become inevitable for organizations of any size. Find out why these plans work. Learn the step-by-step process for developing and managing plans built to address the wide range of issues organizations face in times of crisis. Contains the essentials for developing both data breach and malware outbreak response plans--and best practices for maintaining those plans Features ready-to-implement CIRPs--derived from living incident response plans that have survived the rigors of repeated execution and numerous audits Clearly explains how to minimize the risk of post-event litigation, brand impact, fines and penalties--and how to protect shareholder value Supports corporate compliance with industry standards and requirements, including PCI, HIPAA, SOX, and CA SB-24

The Encyclopedia of Cloud Computing provides IT professionals, educators, researchers and students with a compendium of cloud computing knowledge. Authored by a spectrum of subject matter experts in industry and academia, this unique publication, in a single volume, covers a wide range of cloud computing topics, including technological trends and developments, research opportunities, best practices, standards, and cloud adoption. Providing multiple perspectives, it also addresses questions that stakeholders might have in the context of development, operation, management, and use of clouds. Furthermore, it examines cloud computing's impact now and in the future. The encyclopedia presents 56 chapters logically organized into 10 sections. Each chapter covers a major topic/area with cross-references to other chapters and contains tables, illustrations, side-bars as appropriate. Furthermore, each chapter presents its summary at the beginning and backend material, references and additional resources for further information.

This dynamic reference work provides solutions to vital algorithmic problems for scholars, researchers, practitioners, teachers and students in fields such as computer science, mathematics, statistics, biology, economics, financial software, and medical informatics.  This second edition is broadly expanded, building upon the success of its former edition with more than 450 new and updated entries. These entries are designed to ensure algorithms are presented from growing areas of research such as bioinformatics, combinatorial group testing, differential privacy, enumeration algorithms, game theory, massive data algorithms, modern learning theory, social networks, and VLSI CAD algorithms. Over 630 entries are organized alphabetically by problem, with subentries allowing for distinct solutions. Each entry includes a description of the basic algorithmic problem; the input and output specifications; key results; examples of applications; citations to key literature, open problems, experimental results, links to data sets and downloadable code. All entries are peer-reviewed, written by leading experts in the field--and each entry contains links to a summary of the author's research work.  This defining reference is available in both print and online--a dynamic living work with hyperlinks to related entries, cross references citations, and a myriad other valuable URLs. New and Updated entries include: Algorithmic Aspects of Distributed Sensor Networks,  Algorithms for Modern Computers  Bioinformatics  Certified Reconstruction and Mesh Generation  Combinatorial Group Testing  Compression of Text and Data Structures  Computational Counting  Computational Economics  Computational Geometry  Differential Privacy  Enumeration Algorithms  Exact Exponential Algorithms  Game Theory  Graph Drawing  Group Testing  Internet Algorithms  Kernels and Compressions  Massive Data Algorithms  Mathematical Optimization  Modern Learning Theory  Social Networks  Stable Marriage Problems, k-SAT Algorithms  Sublinear Algorithms  Tile Self-Assembly  VLSI CAD Algorithms

This reference reprints with corrections, additional comments, and classification 326 alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced memory analysis patterns originally published in Memory Dump Analysis Anthology volumes 1 - 8. This pattern catalog is a part of pattern-oriented software diagnostics, forensics, and prognostics developed by Software Diagnostics Institute (DumpAnalysis.org + TraceAnalysis.org). Most of the patterns are illustrated with examples for WinDbg from Debugging Tools for Windows with a few examples from Mac OS X for GDB.

Learn Python--the fun and easy way--and get in the programming game today! Python is one of the fastest growing programming languages, and no wonder. It requires three to five times less time than developing in Java, is a great building block for learning both procedural and object-oriented programming concepts, and is an ideal language for data analysis. Beginning Programming with Python For Dummies is the perfect guide to this dynamic and powerful programming language--even if you've never coded before! Author John Paul Mueller draws on his vast programming knowledge and experience to guide you step-by-step through the syntax and logic of programming with Python and provides several real-world programming examples to give you hands-on experience trying out what you've learned. Provides a solid understanding of basic computer programming concepts and helps familiarize you with syntax and logic Explains the fundamentals of procedural and object-oriented programming Shows how Python is being used for data analysis and other applications Includes short, practical programming samples to apply your skills to real-world programming scenarios Whether you've never written a line of code or are just trying to pick up Python, there's nothing to fear with the fun and friendly Beginning Programming with Python For Dummies leading the way.

This completely updated fourth edition of the popular BEGINNING GAME PROGRAMMING will introduce you to the fascinating world of game programming for Windows using Visual Studio 2013 and DirectX. The book requires only a basic understanding of the C++ language and provides a solid introduction to DirectX programming. You'll learn the basics of making sprite-based games without getting bogged down in complex 3D rendering. The instruction is step-by-step, building as you go. Even if you're new to the subject, you will be able to follow along, learning how to take your game ideas from concept to reality using today's standard professional game-creation tools. At the end of the book, you will put your new skills to use creating your own complete, fully functional game. Get started in game programming today, with BEGINNING GAME PROGRAMMING, FOURTH EDITION.

iOS 7 changed everything--get up to speed! iOS 7 is a major shift in the look and feel of apps--the first major sea change since the iPhone was first introduced. For apps to blend in with the new UI, each needs a complete redesign. Beginning iOS Programming: Building and Deploying iOS Applications starts at the beginning--including an introduction to Objective C--and gives you the skills you need to get your apps up and running. Author Nick Harris has extensive experience developing for iOS and provides a solid background for teaching the building blocks of app development. Learn Objective-C and how it differs from other programming languages Turn your app idea into an actionable plan Build each feature with the help of standalone chapters Assemble your project into a real-world iOS app Throughout the book, you'll be able to experiment with dozens of recipes from real-life scenarios, creating an app as you learn. The book's website features download sample apps to follow along with the instruction, and sample code to illustrate ideas.

Learning Processing, Second Edition, is a friendly start-up guide to Processing, a free, open-source alternative to expensive software and daunting programming languages. Requiring no previous experience, this book is for the true programming beginner. It teaches the basic building blocks of programming needed to create cutting-edge graphics applications including interactive art, live video processing, and data visualization. Step-by-step examples, thorough explanations, hands-on exercises, and sample code, supports your learning curve. A unique lab-style manual, the book gives graphic and web designers, artists, and illustrators of all stripes a jumpstart on working with the Processing programming environment by providing instruction on the basic principles of the language, followed by careful explanations of select advanced techniques. The book has been developed with a supportive learning experience at its core. From algorithms and data mining to rendering and debugging, it teaches object-oriented programming from the ground up within the fascinating context of interactive visual media. This book is ideal for graphic designers and visual artists without programming background who want to learn programming. It will also appeal to students taking college and graduate courses in interactive media or visual computing, and for self-study.

About This BookKick-start your Android programming career, or just have fun publishing apps to the Google Play marketplaceA first-principles introduction to Java, via Android, which means you'll be able to start building your own applications from scratchLearn by example and build three real-world apps and over 40 mini apps throughout the bookWho This Book Is For Are you trying to start a career in programming, but haven't found the right way in? Do you have a great idea for an app, but don't know how to make it a reality? Or maybe you are just frustrated that "to learn Android, you must know Java." If so, this book is for you. You don't need any programming experience to follow along with this book, just a computer and a sense of adventure.What You Will LearnMaster the fundamentals of coding Java for AndroidInstall and set up your Android development environmentBuild functional user interfaces with the Android Studio visual designerAdd user interaction, data captures, sound, and animation to your appsManage your app's data using the built-in Android SQLite databaseFind out about the design patterns used by professionals to make top-grade applicationsBuild, deploy, and publish real Android applications to the Google Play marketplaceIn Detail This book is your companion to create Android applications from scratch, whether you are looking to start your programming career, make an application for work, be reintroduced to mobile development, or are just looking to program for fun. We will introduce you to all the fundamental concepts of programming in an Android context, from the basics of Java to working with the Android API. After this crashcourse, we will dive deeper into Android programming and you will learn how to create applications with a professional-standard UI through fragments, make location-aware apps with Google Maps integration, and store your user's data with SQLite. In addition, you will see how to make your apps multilingual, capture images from a device's camera, and work with graphics, sound, and animations too. By the end of this book, you will be ready to start building your own custom applications in Android and Java.

This book is designed for use as a primary textbook for a course in cloud computing or as a resource for professionals in industry seeking to explore cloud services. The book highlights the recent developments in distributed computing and details the architecture, virtualization concepts, and security concerns of cloud computing. It also provides a detailed understanding of the benefits of cloud computing that can encourage enterprises to switch to the cloud. Features: - Provides a basic understanding of the computing paradigm of cloud computing - Gives a brief introduction to cloud computing, its architecture, and the Hadoop distributed file system - Deals with cloud management concepts like scalable, fault tolerance, resiliency, provisioning, asset management, cloud governance, high availability, disaster recovery, and multi-tenancy - Includes case studies on MS Azure, Google, Amazon Web Services, Aneka, etc.

Learn to program with C++ quickly with this helpful For Dummies guide Beginning Programming with C++ For Dummies, 2nd Edition gives you plain-English explanations of the fundamental principles of C++, arming you with the skills and know-how to expertly use one of the world's most popular programming languages. You'll explore what goes into creating a program, how to put the pieces together, learn how to deal with standard programming challenges, and much more. Written by the bestselling author of C++ For Dummies, this updated guide explores the basic development concepts and techniques of C++ from a beginner's point of view, and helps make sense of the how and why of C++ programming from the ground up. Beginning with an introduction to how programming languages function, the book goes on to explore how to work with integer expressions and character expressions, keep errors out of your code, use loops and functions, divide your code into modules, and become a functional programmer. Grasp C++ programming like a pro, even if you've never written a line of code Master basic development concepts and techniques in C++ Get rid of bugs and write programs that work Find all the code from the book and an updated C++ compiler on the companion website If you're a student or first-time programmer looking to master this object-oriented programming language, Beginning Programming with C++ For Dummies, 2nd Edition has you covered.

The exemplar result of several years of teaching, laboratory experience and evaluation, Basics of Computer Organization and Architecture: Problems and Solutionsstarts with a brief history of electronic computers and covers all units of digital computers. This book educates its readers on a wide range of units, including; history of computers, number systems and codes, fixed point arithmetic, floating point arithmetic, decimal arithmetic, ALU Design, control unit, hardwired and micro-programmed control unit configurations and design, memories, memory interfacing, buses, examples of standard serial and parallel buses, input and output devices and I/O modes, introduction to 8 bit microprocessors and microcontrollers and more. Rao demonstrates problems in graded form starting from simple and increasing to reasonably complex in level.In its totality, this book serves as an essential text book on computer organization and architecture.

Designed as a beginner’s tutorial to the latest version of Visual Basic, this informative guide teaches how to write .NET Framework applications. Written with clarity and readability in mind, it introduces important programming concepts and explains the process of building real-world applications. With the most comprehensive coverage possible in a book for beginners, it includes such topics as VB language syntax, object-oriented programming, working with numbers and dates, error handling, input output, generics, annotations, database access, and Windows Presentation Foundation.