LibGuides: African Studies: Find Articles

Finding the Full-Text of an Article

If the full text of the article is available through a database, you'll see a link to view the article in HTML and/or PDF format.
If the full text of the article is NOT available through the database, click on the Find It button.
This will automatically search all the other library databases to see if we have it online elsewhere.
If we don't have it online elsewhere, Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain journal articles at no cost to you. Delivery of most documents is done electronically via e-mail.

Find Articles

Here are a list of databases that will prove useful for research in African Studies:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A popular resource found in many academic settings worldwide, this resource was designed for researchers, rich with the most valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content available. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.

African Journals Online (AJOL)
Historically, scholarly information has flowed from North to South and from West to East. It has also been difficult for African researchers to access the work of other African academics. In partnership with hundreds of journals from all over the continent, AJOL works to change this, so that African-origin research output is available to Africans and to the rest of the world
Africana Bib
AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research. The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature) and African Women's literature (African Women). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa). In June 2012 two bibliographies were added, one on Islam in Africa, compiled by Paul Schrijver, the other on the Kenya Coast, compiled by Jan Hoorweg. In July 2014 Water and Africa was added.

Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)
Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCO)
This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.

eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Family & Society Studies Worldwide database provides the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Historical Abstracts is a complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Black Studies Periodicals Database
IIBP Full Text includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Provides citations for articles on language, linguistics, literature, and folklore.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Dissertations and theses 1743-present with full-text for most from 1997-present. SEE Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO)
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Social Sciences Citation Index (1987-present)
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.