LibGuides: REL R370 Islam in America: 3: Find Materials

Find Articles

Search for articles in subject-specific (for example, religion) and general (interdisciplinary) databases, which contain articles from the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields.
America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from major religion and theology journals from 1949-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage back to the first issue of journals; embargo on some current content. Library subscribes to the following archival databases: All Arts & Sciences (I-IV); Ecology and Botany I; Health & General Sciences; and Life Sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles in arts & humanities and social sciences.

Find Primary Sources

Where/How to Search for Primary Sources
ArchiveGrid
Database of archival collections in thousands of libraries and museums around the world. Full-text may or may not be available, for some you need to visit the archive in person.

Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Sanborn fire insurance maps are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. Includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials. The maps also give street names, property boundaries, and house and block numbers.

HathiTrust Digital Library

Hoosier State Chronicles This link opens in a new window
Indiana's historic newspapers.
Indiana Memory This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions.

Find Books

IUCAT is Indiana University's online library catalog. Search it to find items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material.