LibGuides: PBHL-P506 Public Health and Community-Focused Leadership: Scholarly Articles

Medical and Public Health Databases

PubMed
Index to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.

Not all search results in PubMed will lead you to the full text of an article (PDF or html) or publication to which we subscribe or have access. After searching, click the red "Find It" button to the right on your search results screen to search for that article against our library's holdings. If you do not see a red "Find It" button, add the following to the end of the URL you are viewing:
/?otool=iusomlib
If that does not work, contact tech support.

PubMed's Health Services Research Queries
This page provides specialized PubMed searches on healthcare quality and costs.

ProQuest Public Health
Core public health literature including journals, news, trade publications, reports and more.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Includes selected pamphlets and audiovisual materials.
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO)
Index of the literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Find articles on a wide variety of topics related to psychology and the workplace, such as training, communication, motivation, retention, and sales.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly documents across the web, with Find It @ IU Indy links. See our FAQ for setting up Google Scholar for off-campus use.

Search Strategies for Finding Programs in Library Databases

Tips for finding scholarly articles on programs:

Use advanced search in any database you select.
Include search terms for a minimum of three concepts: 1) Population, 2) Health Topic/Outcomes, 3) Program terms (see below).
Search strategy for programs/interventions (copy/paste into database in the title field): program* or intervention* or initiative* or strateg* or policy or trial* or evaluation* or effectiveness
Look for systematic reviews that summarize and synthesize evidence for programs addressing particular conditions or populations. Use the reference list to identify articles about particular programs.

Too many results?

Add additional concepts. This could be a setting (e.g., United States, school-based, primary care, etc.). Or it could be additional population terms (e.g., instead of targeting pregnant women, you could specifically target Black pregnant women)
Search for your most important concepts in the TITLE field. See images below for examples.

Too few results?

Remove a concept. Maybe your search is too specific in terms of setting, geography, population, etc.
Add additional synonyms.

PubMed Example

Note that the program terms were searched in the title field.

PubMed search generated from the above search builder:

((drug overdose OR opioid overdose OR opiate overdose) AND (rural or rurality)) AND (program*[Title] OR intervention*[Title] OR initiative*[Title] OR strateg*[Title] OR policy[Title] OR trial*[Title] OR evaluation*[Title] OR effectiveness[Title])

Multiple Database Search in EBSCO (Medline, PsycINFO, CINAHL)

EBSCO multiple database search (Medline, PsycINFO, CINAHL) search generated from the advanced search:

(pregnancy or pregnant or prenatal or antenatal or perinatal or maternal) AND (african americans or black) AND TI (program* or intervention* or initiative* or trial*) AND (maternal outcomes or pregnancy outcomes or maternal morbidity or maternal mortality)