PBHL-P109 Introduction to Public Health

Look through the reports for more information

Look through the reports for more information

Really excellent data visualizer for homicide data around the world. Make comparisons across different countries.

Really excellent data visualizer for suicide data around the world. Make comparisons across different countries.

This is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data.
There are also videos and help pages if you need assistance learning how to use this data visualization tool.

NVDRS is the only state-based surveillance (reporting) system that pools more than 600 unique data elements from multiple sources into an anonymous database. NVDRS covers all types of violent deaths – including homicides and suicides – in all settings for all age groups.

Good place to start for data and reports

Interactive data on fatal & nonfatal overdoses. Includes a filter for opioid use.

The data in the maps show the geographic distribution in the United States, at both state and county levels, of retail opioid prescriptions dispensed per 100 persons per year from 2006–2020.

Report with visualizations you can manipulate to learn how US opioid use compares with other countries.

Overview of mental illness statistics

Good overview of mental health in the US with many links out to reputable, evidence-based sources. It's best to cite the original data, not this website.

Includes data on mental health, telemedicine, and mental health care

Mental health data can be found in many CDC data sources listed on this page. Some of these data sources will be easier to use than others.

Interactive report on mental health around the world. You can also filter to data from the US.

Includes crime incidents by age, race, and gender of the offender, along with the weapon used, location, and relationship to the victim.

Look through the reports for more information

Really excellent data visualizer for homicide data around the world. Make comparisons across different countries.

Look through the reports for more information

Really excellent data visualizer for suicide data around the world. Make comparisons across different countries.

Report from Every Town for Gun Safety. Also look at references for more sources.

Includes statistics, preventative practices, and evidence-based programs.

Data and research from the John Hopkins Center for Gun Violence Solutions. Look at the references.

Report from Every Town for Gun Safety. Take a look at the references.

Scholarly article from the journal Pediatrics

Shooters, their backgrounds, guns and motivation from The Violence Project

Congressional Research Service report

FBI study

Every Town for Gun Safety report

Data and research from the Educational Fund to Stop Gun Violence. Look at the references.

Scholarly article from Injury Epidemiology