LibGuides: IUSM Research Compliance Guide: NIH Public Access & MyNCBI

Resources for Open/Public Access Compliance

The National Institutes of Health has issued a revised Public Access Policy to ensure compliance with Public Law 110-161. Under the revised policy, any peer-reviewed journal articles arising in whole or part from direct costs paid by the NIH or NIH staff must be submitted in electronic format to the National Library of Medicine's digital archive PubMed Central (PMC) and made available within twelve months of publication.

NIHMS
NIH Manuscript Submission (NIHMS) System--The system to submit accepted, peer-reviewed manuscripts to be assigned a PMCID. Journals, authors, and third-party groups can submit articles into the NIHMS.
NIHMS Status Glossary
This glossary defines the various statuses provided in the NIHMS system to help determine where in the process an article may be.
PMID to PMCID Convertor
This tool lets you enter PMID(s) and find if it has a PMCID or an NIHMSID associated.
MyNCBI
This tool allows you to check and manage MyBibliography (where NIH authors should keep track of their publications), NIH Public Access Policy compliance, log into SciENcv (the NIH Biosketch tool), save searches in PubMed, and save collections (specific articles).

Sample letters to publishers

SciENcv

SciENcv

Science Experts Network Curriculum Vitae (SciENcv)
A researcher profile system for all individuals who apply for, receive, or are associated with research investments from federal agencies. SciENcv is available through MyNCBI. This is also a tool to create and maintain biosketches.
SciENcv YouTube video
Highlights special features of SciENcv
SciENcv FAQs

NIH Biosketch

NIH Biosketch format updates
The NIH Biosketch latest updates went into effect May 25, 2021. The changes allow the BioSketch to better align with guidance issued from OSTP.
Biosketch format
General and for fellowships, blank, and samples
FAQs for NIH Biosketch

My Bibliography

My Bibliography
This tool allows you to check manage MyBibliography (where NIH authors should keep track of their publications), NIH Public Access Policy compliance, log into SciENcv, save searches, and save collections (specific articles).

SciENcv walkthrough
This handout provides step-by-step instructions to walk through filling out the SciENcv form.

Open Access

Open Access is "a movement to make research works such as articles, data, software, etc., available freely, immediately, and permanently online to the public without financial and technical barriers." (NNLM Data Thesaurus)

More general information on what Open Access is:

Open Access
SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition)
Open Access
ARL--Association of Research Libraries
Why Open Access Matter
PLoS (Public Library of Science)
COAPI
Coalition of Open Access Policy Institutions

IU Indianapolis Open Access

IU Indianapolis Open Access (OA) Policy
The IU Indianapolis Faculty Council adopted an open access policy on October 7th, 2014. This policy shows the IU Indianapolis commitment to disseminating the fruits of research and scholarship as widely as possible. Open access policies increase authors’ rights, readership and citation rates for scholarly articles. The opt out provision ensures that all faculty authors have the freedom to publish in the journal of their choice.
IU Indianapolis Open Access Policy FAQ
IU Indianapolis Open Access Fund
The IU Indianapolis Open Access Fund underwrites reasonable publication charges for articles published in fee-based, peer-reviewed journals that are openly accessible.