LibGuides: Emergency Medicine: Articles

Databases

PubMed
Index to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.
Not all search results in PubMed will lead you to the full text of an article (PDF or html) or publication to which we subscribe or have access. After searching, click the red "Find It" button to the right on your search results screen to search for that article against our library's holdings. If you do not see a red "Find It" button, add the following to the end of the URL you are viewing:
/?otool=iusomlib
If that does not work, contact tech support.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
International index of articles on biomedicine, including the allied health fields, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Includes info from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing. 1946-present.
EMBASE (Elsevier)
Embase is a biomedical research and literature database with over 32 million records for biomedical and pharmacological articles and conference proceedings from 1947 to the present. It covers over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
Scopus
Interdisciplinary index primarily for the sciences and social sciences. Useful for forward citation searching. Need to export searches? Click "more..." below
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
Web of Science
Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. (Does not support Internet Explorer as a browser)

Journals

Annals of Emergency Medicine
An international, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to improving the quality of care by publishing the highest quality science for emergency medicine and related medical specialties. Annals publishes original research, clinical reports, opinion, and educational information related to the practice, teaching, and research of emergency medicine.
Academic Emergency Medicine
Academic Emergency Medicine (AEM) is the official journal of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) and publishes information relevant to the practice, educational advancements, and investigation of emergency medicine.
The American Journal of Emergency Medicine
The oldest independent peer-reviewed medical journal covering emergency medicine, is a monthly journal covering all aspects of emergency medicine care.
Emergency Medicine Journal
Emergency Medicine Journal is an international peer reviewed journal covering pre-hospital and hospital emergency medicine, and critical care. The journal publishes original research, evidence-based reviews and commentaries on resuscitation, trauma, minor injuries, disaster preparedness and response, toxicology, acute medical and paediatric emergencies, diagnostic testing, teaching, clinical operations, decision making and reflections on clinical practice.
Western Journal of Emergency Medicine
WestJEM focuses on how the systems and delivery of emergency care affects health, health disparities, and health outcomes in communities and populations worldwide, including the impact of social conditions on the composition of patients seeking care in emergency departments.

Search Articles & Journals

Search Google Scholar (For instructions on accessing full text articles via Google Scholar, please refer to our Finding Fulltext guide.)