3. Find Materials - French | Français - LibGuides at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Article & Citation Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Scholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields. (Partially paid for by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
ARTstor This link opens in a new window Art images, not only for the fine arts but as a general image resource. (Now in JSTOR.)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage back to the first issue of journals; embargo on some current content. Library subscribes to the following archival databases: All Arts & Sciences (I-IV); Ecology and Botany I; Health & General Sciences; and Life Sciences.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Search for French Language news.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window Biographical information, overviews, literary criticism, and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, internationally.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Citations for articles on language, linguistics, literature, and folklore.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly articles in arts & humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary database including scholarly and popular articles, market reports, and newspapers.

Film-related databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive research resource for communication and related disciplines. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) index covers the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, 1972-present.
Film Index International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window International coverage of all areas of film studies - from the silent movies, to art house classics, to blockbusters - 1900-present.

Internet Movie Database (IMDB)

Dissertations and Theses

Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations Open Access electronic theses and dissertations.
IUPUI Scholar Works Graduate and doctoral level research conducted by IUPUI students. Browse titles from the World Languages and Cultures Department.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Dissertations and theses 1743-present with full-text for most from 1997-present. SEE Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)

Finding the Full-Text of an Article

Detailed description of, "Finding Full Text" diagram

Finding the full-text of an article from a citation

When you have found a promising source in a print bibliography or footnotes, the foolproof method for getting access to the full-text is to search for the Journal TITLE in the Electronic Journals List (search box below). Do not search for the article title, do not waste your time searching JSTOR or other databases.

Example of a Journal Citation (text in bold=title you want to search)

Fine, M. (1988) ‘Sexuality, Schooling, and Adolescent Females: The Missing Discourse of Desire’, Journal Title:Harvard Educational Review 58(1): 29–53.

If we don't have access to the full-text of the journal, Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain journal articles at no cost to you. Delivery of most documents is done electronically via e-mail.

Finding a Book at University Library

Detailed description of, "Finding a Book at University Library"

More Books

Hathi Trust HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries available for all.

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window This database contains ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools. Formerly ebrary. Includes library subscription to Academic Complete.

Inventaire des usages de la Francophonie: Nomenclatures et Méthodologies [eBook] A lexicon of French vocabulary in sub-Saharan Africa.
Le Français au Burundi [eBook] In-depth look at the evolution of French spoken in Burundi, plus a glossary.

French | Français

How to Find Articles in Library Databases

Selected journal titles from BrowZine

IUCAT

Research Centers

Other Libraries