LibGuides: English: Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles on English Topics

Library databases can contain many types of documents and information. When researching English topics, that might include literary criticism, original research articles, historical documents, encyclopedia entries and the full text of literary works to name a few. Some of the more popular databases for English topics are listed under Suggested Library Databases to Get Started on English Topics. Other more specialized resources are listed below in the More Specialized Databases section. If you're unsure where to start, please contact a librarian for some suggestions.

Suggested Library Databases to Get Started on English Topics

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
Scholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields.
NOTE: If the above link is not working, you can try to access this resource through the State Library using this link (Partially paid for by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
JSTOR
Interdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage back to the first issue of journals; embargo on some current content. Library subscribes to the following archival databases: All Arts & Sciences (I-IV); Ecology and Botany I; Health & General Sciences; and Life Sciences.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Citations for articles on language, linguistics, literature, and folklore.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Biographical information, overviews, literary criticism, and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, internationally.
Project Muse
Full-text scholarly articles in arts & humanities and social sciences.

More Specialized Databases

Eighteenth-Century Fiction (Chadwyck-Healey)
96 complete works of English prose by British writers from 1700-1780.
19th Century Literature Criticism (Gale)
Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online.
20th (Twentieth) Century American Poetry (Chadwyck-Healey)
Poems by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
20th Century Literary Criticism (Gale)
Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online
African American Poetry (Chadwyck-Healey)
Early history of African American poetry, from 1746 to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
African Writers Series (Chadwyck-Healey)
Key texts of modern African literature.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (Chadwyck-Healey)
Index of monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published worldwide from 1920-present.
Artemis Literary Sources (Gale)
Information on authors and their works, literary movements, and genres.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1987-present)
Index of scholarly articles in the arts and humanities.
Asian American Drama (Alexander Street Press)
Over 250 plays, biographical, production, and theatrical information, from 1891-present.
Black Drama (3rd edition) (Alexander Street Press)
Full text of plays written from the mid-1800s-present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore (Alexander Street Press)
Literary magazines, short stories and folktales.
Black Women Writers (Alexander Street Press)
Fiction, poetry, and essays of women from Africa and the African Diaspora.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO)
Reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction books, 1905-1982.
Brill Humanities and Social Sciences E-Books
Covers History, Biblical Studies, Asian Studies, International Law, Religious Studies, Classical Studies, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Literature and Cultural Studies, Human Rights and Humanitarian Law, Language and Linguistics, Jewish Studies, Ancient Near East and Egypt, Philosophy, African Studies, Biology, Theology and World Christianity, and more.
British Literary Manuscripts Online (Gale)
Manuscripts of British authors, containing poems, plays, novels, diaries, journals, and correspondence. Access includes: 1) Medieval and Renaissance, and 2) 1660-1900.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (Chadwyck-Healey)
The most comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Includes Palmer's Index and Fulltext
Caribbean Literature (Alexander Street Press)
Poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Children's Literature Review (Gale)
Part of the library's subscription to Literature Criticism Online.
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (Gale)
Part of the library's subscription to Literature Criticism Online.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale)
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
SEE ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global (PQDT Global)
Drama Criticism (Gale)
Part of Literature Criticism Online.
Early American Fiction 1789-1875 (Chadwyck-Healey)
Full-text of first editions of American novels and short stories.
Early English Books Online (ProQuest)
Images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Early English Prose Fiction (Chadwyck-Healey)
Works of prose fiction from 1500-1700.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (1591-1911) (Chadwyck-Healey)
Plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. Also contains adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the 17th-19th centuries.
English Drama (Chadwyck-Healey)
Collection of plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to Oscar Wilde.
English Poetry (Chadwyck-Healey)
English poetic canon from the 8th to the early 20th centuries.
English Verse Drama
The use of this resource is restricted to Indiana University faculty, staff, and students.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Full-text and citations to articles in the humanities, including book reviews.
IngentaConnect (Ingenta)
Access to multidisciplinary academic and professional research articles.
International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest)
IIPA contains performing arts articles covering film, theater, and dance, 1864-present.
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (Alexander Street Press)
Volumes of poetry by ~50 Irish women writing from 1768-1842.
Latin American Women Writers (Alexander Street Press)
Prose, poetry, drama, and essays by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Fiction, poetry, and plays representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest)
Articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Literary Reference Plus (EBSCO)
Information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Literature and Language (ProQuest)
Contains 43 collections, including: Black Short Fiction and Folklore, Black Women Writers, Caribbean Literature, Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, Latin American Women Writers, Latino Literature, Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, South and Southeast Asian Literature.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Biographical information, overviews, literary criticism, and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, internationally.
Loeb Classical library
Greek and Latin literature including epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory.
Motif-Index of Folk Literature
Classification of narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, medieval romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends.
North American Indian Drama (Alexander Street Press)
Plays and the Native Playwrights' Newsletter.
North American Indian Drama (Alexander Street Press)
Plays and the Native Playwrights' Newsletter.
North American Women's Drama (Alexander Street Press)
Plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, from colonial times to the present.
Perseus Digital Library
Materials including: Greek and Roman, Arabic language, Germanic, 19th century America, Renaissance, Humanist and Renaissance Italian Poetry in Latin.
Poetry Criticism (Gale)
Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Databases including arts, business, education, health, humanities, military, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Coverage: 1971-present.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (Alexander Street Press)
Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, and material by leading scholars.
Shakespearean Criticism (Gale)
Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online.
Shakespeare Collection: Featuring The Arden Shakespeare Complete Works (Gale)
General reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare.
Short Story Criticism (Gale)
Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online.
Something About the Author Online (Gale)
All volumes of the series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.
South and Southeast Asian Literature (Alexander Street Press)
Fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. Focuses on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras.
TeachingBooks.net (for Indiana residents)
Adds a multimedia dimension to everyone's reading experiences of children's and young adult books. This link gives IUI patrons access to most resources without registering. If users want unlimited access to all materials you must sign in and fill out the brief profile (must enter your IU email address). (Access to Indiana residents provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (Gale)
Archive of the TLS. Part of Gale NewsVault.
Underground and Independent Comics (Alexander Street Press)
Underground and independent comics, comix, and graphic novels.
Victorian Women Writers Project
Transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century.
Women Writers Online
Full-text of early women’s writing in English published between 1526 and 1850.
Wright American Fiction
Collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.

English

Finding Scholarly Articles on English Topics

Suggested Library Databases to Get Started on English Topics

More Specialized Databases

English and Literature Journals Carried by IU Columbus

Services

Find

Library

Resources

Email

Clery Act Information

IU Columbus

English

Finding Scholarly Articles on English Topics

Suggested Library Databases to Get Started on English Topics

More Specialized Databases

English and Literature Journals Carried by IU Columbus

Contact, Address and Additional Links

Services

Find

Library

Resources

Email

Clery Act Information