Don't forget to use article databases to search for news articles related to your private company. Articles may reveal financial, marketing, and strategy information.
Private Company Information
Private company information can be difficult to find. These databases have infomation on private companies. Sometimes more information is found in news and trade publications. Combine a search of these databases with article databases listed below.
Search for company profiles, executives, news, and industry information. Company profiles include business focus, history, competition, SWOT analysis, executive, news coverage, and financial reports. Industry information includes access to market research, industry norms, industry ratios. Access issues? click on "more..." below
There has been an issue at times with accessing D&B Hoovers, especially off campus, due to DUO authentication. Specifically, if people had set their DUO authentication to remember them for seven days, and try to access one of these systems, they may find they cannot gain access to the database in question.
If and when this occurs, we recommend as a best solution to OPEN AN INCOGNITO WINDOW and access the database in that way. This will force the person to reauthenticate in DUO at the time of access and solve the problem.
Business directory that allows users to identify market participants, study market share, locate potential clients, create targeted mailing lists, determine parent/subsidiary relationships, analyze market position, and find company specific data.
Company profile information on 40,000 public and non-public companies, includes: overview, history, fact sheet, financial data, competitors, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, and key executives.
Research Private Local Companies
If your project's company is a smaller, local company it may not be in some of the larger business databases. Here are strategies you can use to find information:
Strategy #1: Search for a company website.
Strategy #2: Search databases that contain some private company information. Suggested databases:
Reference Solutions: US Businesses databases.
D&B Hoovers
Marketline Advantage
Strategy #3: Consider using a similarpublic company as a proxy.
By researching a company that is similar to your own you may be able find analysis that explain key issues that could be affecting your project's company including opportunities and threats, consumer trends, and issues affecting the supply chain.
Strategy #4: Look for news articles in local newspapers and periodicals. Three databases that may help you find articles mentioning your company are:
