LibGuides: BUS X300 / X320 Career Research: Data &amp; Statistics

Subscription Databases

Remote use of these databases is restricted to IUI students, faculty and staff. Other users are welcome to access from within the library building.

Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) Voluntary Support of Education Survey: AMAtlas Data Miner tool
"AMAtlas is CASE’s global resource for advancement research, metrics, and analytics. AMAtlas is comprised of the CASE Global Reporting Standards and associated benchmarking surveys on fundraising, alumni relations, and marketing and communications. AMAtlas also conducts research and reports on professional practice and emerging issues of interest to advancement professionals." Available to IUPUI affiliates, email CASE (vse@case.org) to request access

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Developed by the Foundation Center, a nonprofit organization with 50 years of experience connecting grantseekers and grantmakers, Foundation Directory Online is the nation's leading online resource for funding research.
GuideStar This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive data on nonprofit organizations, including historic 990 tax forms from 1998 until most recent filing.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides data on a variety of disciplines. Data points presented in multiple formats including reports, graphs, infographics, and PowerPoint slides. No directly philanthropic data, but good for pulling in supplementary data from areas like business, marketing, Internet use, etc.

Giving USA
Call Number: HV89 .G5
Publication Date: 1955-current
Back issues available digitally (link below), most recent issues are available in print reference inside the Payton Library.
Grantmakers Salary and Benefits Report by Council on Foundations
Call Number: HV41.9.U5 G736
Publication Date: 1996-2015
"For more than 30 years, the Council's Grantmaker Salary and Benefits Survey has provided the sector with the most comprehensive data on grantmaker staff composition and compensation in the U.S. at community, private (family and independent), and public foundations, as well as other staffed grantmaking entities." Available in print in the Payton Library. (Older issues available under old title, Grantmakers Salary Report.)

Indiana Nonprofits
Baseline information about the Indiana nonprofit sector, its composition, structure, and contributions to the state
National Center for Charitable Statistics - Urban Institute
Most comprehensive source of statistics on nonprofit organizations, public charity finances, voluntarism, charitable and foundation giving. Data Archive includes IRS Business Master Files, NCCS Core Files, Digitized Data Files, and IRS Statistics of Income Division Exempt Organizations Sample Files.

American Religion Data Archive
Church membership, surveys of denominations, and leadership by religious group/denomination
Empty Tomb
"empty tomb, inc. serves the church in different ways, providing both a financial discipleship strategy and information about church giving patterns on a national level."

Civicus Civil Society Index
Database is not working, but individual countries' reports are still available and downloadable.
UN Data
"UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies."
UN Millennium Development Goals Reports, 2005-2015
Progress on goals to alleviate effects of poverty worldwide; reported by geographic region.