Textbooks

Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist by Elena Bablenis Haveles With a focus on the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 8th Editionprovides you with an in-depth understanding of the pharmacologic principles needed for safe and effective dental treatment and oral health care. It discusses drug properties and mechanisms of action, dosages, intended effects, interactions, and adverse reactions - both for the medications a patient may already be taking and for the drugs prescribed by the dentist. This new edition has been updated throughout to give you a firm foundation in pharmacology in order to assess and educate patients so they can maintain optimal oral health! IMPROVED! Test Bank with cognitive leveling based on Bloom's Taxonomy mapped to the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) blueprint. Comprehensive coverage with a dental focus provides you with an in-depth understanding of the most commonly used drugs, how they work, and how they affect patients' oral health and dental treatment options. Multiple opportunities for classroom and board exam prep offers summaries and review questions at the end of each chapter, helping you to assess your knowledge of the material. Key terms are bolded and in color within each chapter and defined in a handy glossary. Full-color design engages the reader and includes additional illustrations showing basic principles and internal processes, along with photographs of oral conditions and side effects. Separate drug index provides easy look-up of specific drugs and types of drugs. Quick-reference appendixes include resources such as the top 200 drugs, medical acronyms, and information on herbal and dietary supplements. NEW! Updated drug content throughout, including new side effects and warnings for many commonly seen drugs. NEW! Elsevier Animation Collection clips on Evolve includes systemic anatomy and physiology.

Dental Materials: Clinical Applications for Dental Assistants and Dental Hygienists by W. Stephen Eakle; Kimberly G. Bastin Stay up to date with the uses, properties, and handling of dental materials! With just the right level and scope of content, Dental Materials: Clinical Applications for Dental Assistants and Dental Hygienists, 4th Edition, emphasizes how knowledge of dental materials fits into day-to-day clinical practice. This hands-on resource features clinically focused content supplemented liberally with high-quality photographs, case applications, clinical tips and warnings, and step-by-step procedures, as well as practice opportunities on a companion website. A focus on application and strong art program with additional modern illustrations make this often-difficult subject matter approachable and relevant for today's dental team members. A focus on clinical application - content presentation, tips and precautions, and case scenarios. Art program with nearly 600 images, including a mixture of full-color conceptual renderings and clinical photographs. Step-by-step procedures with artwork and icons. Practice opportunities for classroom and board exam prep include chapter review questions and discussion topics and practice quizzes on Evolve. Vocabulary practice - key terms called out in chapter and defined in glossary. Robust student practice opportunities such as competency skill worksheets, and educator support materials. An Evolve companion website with student practice opportunities and educator support materials. Full-color presentation shows dental materials being used and applied. NEW! Additional application criteria listings support optimal decision making. NEW! Additional modern illustrations enhance comprehension of complex biomaterials concepts. NEW! Evidence-based content on dynamic areas such as esthetics, ceramics, implants, and impressions. IMPROVED! Test Bank with cognitive leveling based on Bloom's Taxonomy and mapping to National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) blueprint.

Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist with Navigate Advantage Access by Jill S. Gehrig; Daniel E. Shin With a comprehensive and student-friendly format, Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist, Sixth Edition equips dental hygiene students with modern, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classification of periodontal disease. Using an easy-to-follow, detailed outline format, leading experts in the field provide readers with an accessible account of the complex subject of periodontics. Rich with engaging features and student resources, the Sixth Edition has been revised and updated throughout to reflect the hygienist's increasingly important role in periodontal therapy, while detailing how students can confidently apply what they have learned to clinical patient care.

Primary Preventive Dentistry by Norman Harris; Franklin Garcia-Godoy; Christine Nathe Organized for consistency, coherence, and readability, this fully updated text covers all areas of prevention in dental care. PRIMARY PREVENTIVE DENTISTRY, 8/enbsp;first describes dental diseases and conditions, helping students clearly understand the processes that can be prevented through the use of preventive modalities or ideas. Next, it presents detailed strategies to prevent these diseases and conditions. Throughout, specific target populations are defined and described based upon scientifically valid preventive strategies aimed at their needs. This edition improves student understanding with more photos, illustrations, diagrams, and tables; highlights "fun facts" about the topic; adds a new chapter on the important influence culture plays in preventive dental care; and is supported by many new web-based review questions and case studies for each chapter.nbsp;

Principles of Rubin's Pathology by Howard M. Reisner; Emanuel Rubin Principles of Rubin's Pathology, Seventh Edition distills the renowned coverage of Rubin's Pathology, Seventh Edition into a focused, approachable guide to the essentials of pathology. This resource introduces principles and mechanisms of pathology, followed by organ-specific information, extracting key information on pathogenesis, epidemiology, and clinical features of diseases. Detailed images clarify challenging content, and companion online resources enable students to learn on the go and confidently prepare for exams. This edition is optimized for students seeking only the most critical information, making it an ideal resource for international medical schools, PA, pharmacy, nursing, and allied health programs. Streamlined content emphasizes essential concepts, including the use of bold terms and bulleted lists to emphasize key points, for the most efficient study of pathology available. Illustrations, photomicrographs, and clinical photographs clarify challenging content and represent the pathogeneses of disease. Highlighted boxes and helpful graphic icons identify Pathogenesis, Pathology, Epidemiology, and Clinical Features sections. Globally sourced content reflects an international spectrum of current practices and approaches. Online resources including new slide-based histopathology lectures presented by Dr. Rubin, original animations, and fully searchable text make learning more engaging and efficient. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more

Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist by Linda D. Boyd; Lisa F. Mallonee Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Fourteenth Edition progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward format to ensure students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment.This cornerstone text, used in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, has been meticulously updated by previous co-authors, Linda Boyd, and Lisa Mallonee to even better meet the needs of today's students and faculty, while reflecting the current state of practice in dental hygiene. Maintaining the hallmark outline format, the Fourteenth Edition continues to offer the breadth and depth of coverage necessary not only for foundation courses bur for use throughout the entire dental hygiene curriculum.The workbook is now included in Navigate Premier Access! The engaging workbook reinforces important concepts of the main text and provides hands-on exercises that put those concepts into practice.