LGBTQ+ Studies

Surveys the contributions that gay and lesbian Americans have made to the democratic process.

Overview of how the American legal system has approached issues pertaining to sexual orientation and how the law has advanced--or hindered--civil rights. Also included are a chronology; a section of key people, laws, and concepts; a table of cases; key legal documents such as the Defense of Marriage Act and the Vermont Civil Union Act; and an annotated bibliography.

The Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions.

A comprehensive overview of homosexuality and the law, beginning with a history of the Gay Rights Movement which started in Germany during the l860s with Karl Heinrich Ulrich. This book has entries on subjects such as absurd sex laws, the Crittendon Report, the Boy Scouts, the l996 Defense of Marriage Act, surgical alterations, discrimination, sodomy, loitering, wills, and more.

Using social equity theory and intersectionality but written in an accessible style, this book demonstrates some of the ways in which LGBTQ citizens have been marginalized for their identity and argues that the field of public administration has a unique responsibility to prioritize social equity.

Connects issues of gender, sexuality, and the family with the broader issues of social movements, politics, and law. Chapters address the themes of visibility, transgression, and resistance, as well as the intersection between the personal and political in the contexts of relationships, parenthood, and political activism. Giving special attention to families of color, immigrant, and poor families, the authors examine the risks entailed in coming out and the significance of class, race, and sexual and gender identity in this process.

Collection of some of the most important public rhetoric on gay and lesbian rights, along with political manifestoes, broadsheets, and performance pieces of the gay and lesbian liberation movement.

Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality was said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this encyclopedia offers accounts of international developments in the subject.

An A-Z reference source on the theme of same-sex desire, gender variance and the sacred, this book examines the often-suppressed spiritual dimension of homosexuality. Its coverage includes archetypal figures such as deities, spirits and the characters of fairy tales; sacred texts including religious narratives; myths and legends; symbols and metaphors; persons and groups embodying the domain, such as Native American Indian berdaches; and works of art, including those of painting, sculpture, music, dance, drama and film.

This resource offers a multidimensional picture of LGBT health across clinical and social disciplines to give readers a full and nuanced understanding of these diverse populations.

Presents lesbian and gay anthropology as a distinct specialization and addresses the theoretical issues that define the emerging field.

This work focuses on 20th/21st- century U. S. history as it pertains to GLBT history. Major issues and events such as the Stonewall riot, "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" in the military, same-sex marriage, gay rights, gay pride, organizations and alliances, AIDS, and legal battles and court cases are discussed.

This delightful volume covers noteworthy queer meeting places: bars, restaurants, churches, public halls, and cruising areas such as parks and tearooms--and major sites associated with the lesbian and gay liberation movement.

The editors have gathered essays that not only make a major contribution to the effort to replace homophobic discourse, but also speak persuasively to all readers interested in literature or literary history, contemporary theory, and popular culture.

It provides overviews of gay and lesbian presence in a variety of literatures and historical periods; in-depth critical essays on major gay and lesbian authors in world literature; and briefer treatments of other topics and figures important in appreciating the rich and varied gay and lesbian literary traditions.

This comprehensive filmography to homosexual characters in mainstream movies, 1914-1992, includes full cast and credits, production information, reviews, and an analysis of the film with an essay blending critical commentary and a synopsis of each film.

Helps blow the cover off the gilded cage. It opens the closet door for a look at, and conversation with, ten gay men of the silver screen.

Interviews Sandy Dennis, Barbara Stanwyck, Marjorie Main, Nancy Kulp, Patsy Kelly, Agnes Moorehead, Edith Head, Judith Anderson, and others about life as a lesbian in the film industry during the so-called Golden Age of Hollywood.

This work documents the influence of gays and lesbians in the film world.

Entries for Latin American authors who have treated gay or lesbian material in their works. Each entry explores the significance of gay and lesbian themes in a particular author's writings and closes with a bibliography of primary and secondary sources.

From Hollywood films to TV soap operas, from Vegas extravaganzas to Broadway theater to haute couture, this comprehensive encyclopedia documents the irrepressible impact of queer creative artists on popular culture.

Moving from the margins to the mainstream, via the application of psychoanalytic theory, critical and cultural interpretation, interviews with key directors and close readings of classic, cult and modern horror, this book will be invaluable to students and researchers of gender and sexuality in horror film and television.

This reference highlights the careers and work of more than 80 women playwrights whose writings portray the African American, Latina, Asian American and lesbian sensibility in the United States.