Communication Studies

Finding Scholarly Articles on Communication Topics

Because communication studies is an interdisciplinary field, appropriate articles may be found in a wide variety of databases. The sources listed below are good starting points for most research topics in communication studies, but you may want to also search the complete list of databases in other fields, depending on your topic. For help in deciding which databases to use, please do not hesitate to ask a librarian.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields. (Partially paid for by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
ComAbstracts (CIOS) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of communications.
ComIndex Online This link opens in a new window
Index to the primary scholarly literature in communication.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research resource for communication and related disciplines. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of film and television from scholarly and popular sources, and spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
IIPA contains performing arts articles covering film, theater, and dance, 1864-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage back to the first issue of journals; embargo on some current content. Library subscribes to the following archival databases: All Arts & Sciences (I-IV); Ecology and Botany I; Health & General Sciences; and Life Sciences.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of the literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Find articles on a wide variety of topics related to psychology and the workplace, such as training, communication, motivation, retention, and sales.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Database provides research tools, books, and journals to help users learn research methods including how to plan and conduct a research project. This resource provides access to Little Green Books (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences - QASS) and Little Blue Books (Qualitative Research Methods). Topics include but are not limited to: statistical analysis, qualitative methods, text mining, data management, data visualization, and programming skills (python, R).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. (Does not support Internet Explorer as a browser)

Journals Carried by IUPUC

News Sources

Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Newswires (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Open-Access Journals

Last Updated: Aug 8, 2024 4:24 PM
URL: https://iu.libguides.com/col/communication
Print Page